Wednesday, 8 March 2017

BC Book Prizes: 2017 finalists announced

On March 7th, the West Coast Book Prize Society announced the finalists for the 2017 BC Book Prizes. Prizes will be awarded in the following seven categories:
  • Fiction 
  • Non-Fiction 
  • Poetry 
  • Regional 
  • Children's Literature 
  • Illustrated Children's Literature 
  • Booksellers' Choice 

There is also the 

  • Lieutenant Governor's Award for Literary Excellence. 

Nominees for all the awards can be found at

The nominees for the 2 children's awards are provided here:

 Sheila A. Egoff 
 Children’s Literature Prize 

A Day of Signs and Wonders 
by Kit Pearson
HarperCollins Publishers

Everyday Hero 
by Kathleen Cherry
Orca Book Publishers
Review here

Pride: Celebrating Diversity & Community 
by Robin Stevenson
Orca Book Publishers

The Rahtrum Chronicles: The Dream 
by R.K. McLay
Fifth House Publishers

The Skeleton Tree 
by Iain Lawrence
Tundra Books

 Christie Harris Illustrated 
 Children’s Literature Prize 

Deep Roots: How Trees Sustain Our Planet 
by Nikki Tate
Orca Book Publishers

My Heart Fills with Happiness 
by Monique Gray Smith
Illustrated by Julie Flett
Orca Book Publishers

Peace Dancer 
by Roy Henry Vickers, Robert Budd
Illustrated by Roy Henry Vickers
Harbour Publishing

Stepping Stones: A Refugee Family's Journey 
by Margriet Ruurs
Illustrated by Nizar Ali Badr
Orca Book Publishers
Review here
by Julie Morstad
Illustrated by Julie Morstad
Simply Read Books

The winners will be announced on April 4, 2017.

Thursday, 26 January 2017

2017 Winners of ALA awards for young people announced

Each year at the American Library Association's midwinter meeting, the ALA honours books for young people with a full roster of awards including the:
  • John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature
  • Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children
  • Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults
  • Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award recognizing an African American author of outstanding books for children and young adults
  • Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award recognizing an African American illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults
  • Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement
  • Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience (three age categories: Ages 0-10; Ages 11-13; Ages 13-18)
  • Alex Awards for the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences
  • Andrew Carnegie Medal for excellence in children's video
  • Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults
  • May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award recognizing an author, critic, librarian, historian or teacher of children's literature
  • Mildred L. Batchelder Award for an outstanding children's book translated from a foreign language and subsequently published in the United States
  • Odyssey Award for best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States
  • Pura Belpré (Illustrator) Award honoring a Latino illustrator whose children's books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience
  • Pura Belpré (Author) Award honoring a Latino writer whose children's books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience
  • Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award for most distinguished informational book for children
  • Stonewall Book Award -Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award given annually to English-language children’s and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience
  • Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the most distinguished beginning reader book
  • William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens
  • YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults, ages 12 – 18
Today, the ALA Youth Media Awards were announced and included only one title by a Canadian author.


Robin Stevenson 

for the selection of

PRIDE: Celebrating Diversity and Community
by Robin Stevenson
published by Orca Book Publishers


Stonewall Book Award -
Mike Morgan & Larry Romans 
Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award 
Honour Book

as an English-language children’s and young adult book of exceptional merit 
relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience

Thursday, 17 November 2016

2016 TD Canadian Children's Literature Awards: Winners announced

Last night, a spectacular youngCanLit celebration was held at The Carlu in Toronto.  It was the 2016 TD Canadian Children's Literature Awards, hosted by the Canadian Children's Book Centre and the TD Bank Group and emceed by Shelagh Rogers from CBC Radio's The Next Chapter.  These awards honour a plethora of youngCanLit authors and illustrators who share those honours with their peers and a multitude of publishers, publicists, literacy experts, librarians, teachers and bloggers who sing their praises.

Before the awards were presented, the selection for this year's TD Grade 1 Book Giveaway was announced. In the next month or so, over half a million Grade 1 students (very fortunate ones, I might add) across Canada will be receiving a copy of this incredible picture book about acceptance and tolerance, Small Saul.

Small Saul
by Ashley Spires
Kids Can Press

Finally, the first award was presented, the Fan Choice award, a young readers' selection from the finalists for the TD Canadian Children's Literature Award.  The winner, selected by over 2000 young readers, was

The Nest 
Written by Kenneth Oppel
Illustrated by Jon Klassen

Then the winners of other eight major children's book awards were announced (though the winner of the Prix TD de littérature canadienne pour l’enfance et la jeunesse had been awarded last week in Montreal).

Congratulations to the following winners
(as well as the finalists from which the winners were chosen!)

TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award ($30,000) Sponsored by TD Bank Group

Missing Nimâmâ 
by Melanie Florence
Illustrated by François Thisdale
Clockwise Press

Prix TD de littérature canadienne pour l’enfance et la jeunesse ($30,000) Sponsored by TD Bank Group

par Jacques Goldstyn
Éditions de la Pastèque

Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award ($20,000) Sponsored by A. Charles Baillie

Sometimes I Feel Like a Fox
by Danielle Daniel
Groundwood Books
Reviewed here

Norma Fleck Award For Canadian Children's Non-Fiction ($10,000) Sponsored by the Fleck Family Foundation

Sex Is a Funny Word: A Book About Bodies, Feelings, and You 
by Cory Silverberg
Illustrated by Fiona Smyth
Seven Stories Press

Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction for Young People ($5,000) Sponsored by the Canadian Children’s Book Centre’s Bilson Endowment Fund

Uncertain Soldier 
by Karen Bass
Pajama Press

John Spray Mystery Award ($5,000) Sponsored by John Spray of Mantis Investigation Agency

The Blackthorn Key 
by Kevin Sands

Monica Hughes Award for Science Fiction and Fantasy ($5,000)  Sponsored by HarperCollins Canada

The Scorpion Rules 
by Erin Bow
Margaret K. McElderry Books

Amy Mathers Teen Book Award ($5,000) Sponsored by Amy Mathers' Marathon of Books

The Truth Commission 
by Susan Juby
Razorbill Canada

Congratulations to all authors, illustrators, 
publishers and readers.  
We're all winners when we celebrate youngCanLit!